top of page
Search
  • Suzy Lyon

Happy chocolate chip cookie day!


Yes, it's that one day of the year when you just have to devour these delicious baked gems!

I have been scouting around a while now for the best chocolate chip recipe and thought I'd found it, but it wasn't until I made a few of my own adjustments, that I have found cookie heaven in a bite!

Everyone has their idea of the perfect cookie, some like them chewy, others gooey on the inside and crisp on the outside, some like them cakey. I like them with a slightly crispy outside and chewy inside, but maintaining a softness. These cookies deliver on all of these, these cookies will not disappoint!

Are you ready to make the most delicious cookies ever! They are so easy! I am going to give you some tips on how you can make a few small adjustments to get them just the way you like them.

Here's the recipe to get you started:

Ingredients

3/4 cup un salted butter- room temperature

1 cup light brown sugar

1/2 granulated sugar

1 tbsp vanilla extract

1 egg

1 egg yolk

2 cups strong white bread flour

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp bicarbonate soda

1/2 tsp cornflour

2 packs milk/dark chocolate chips

Instructions

1. Preheat oven to 170c

2. Cream together both sugars and butter until light and fluffy. 4 mins works well for me.

3. Add the egg and egg yolk along with the vanilla extracted into the creamed mixture and beat for a further minute until all ingredients are incorporated.

4. Add to your mixture your flour, bicarbonate of soda, salt and cornflour and mix until everything is incorporated.

5. You should have a soft dough that's not too runny it falls off a spoon and not to stiff that it's difficult to dig into. At this point add your chocolate chips to the dough, you can either use a spoon or your fingers. I tend to just get in there with my fingers to make sure the chocolate chips are evenly distributed.

6. Make sure you have greased or put grease proof paper on your baking sheet if it's non stick and take small golf ball sized balls that you roll in your hands to make them round. I find this gives it a better round shape and even finish when cooked helping them all to look quite uniform which I like.

7. Pop them into the lower shelf in the oven to cook for 10-11 minutes if you like them soft and chewy or 12 minutes if you prefer them with a slight crunch and chewy in the middle. This is how I like them, so I tend to leave them for the 12 minutes. Make sure you keep an eye on them though, there's nothing worse than over cooked cookies.

8. Leave them to cool on a wire rack (unless you like to sneak one whilst it's still warm and gooey like me).

Nothing completes the experience quite like a cold glass of milk with your sweet yummy cookie treat! Happy baking!

Don't forget to share this recipe with friends and post pictures and comments below. Have a great chocolate chip cookie day!


45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page