top of page
Search
  • Suzy Lyon

The First Fruits Of Autumn

I can't believe we are in September already, Autumn is upon us and what I like to call the 'fiery season' is well in approach. I have to say, Autumn has always been a season I struggle with, because I know it brings the darker days and colder weather is on it's way, so I really have had to learn to embrace this season. I call it 'fiery' because of the colours, my husband has helped me to enjoy Autumns richness and little gems. If you're like me at all, for a long while, all I thought Autumn was good for was Halloween (which I don't like) and Bonfire night, but there is so much more to enjoy. Look forward to lots of Autumn inspiration at Ginger Sweet Chic!

One of the most enjoyable end of summer, beginning of Autumn activities just has to be blackberry picking. Black, deep purple jewels packed with juicy goodness! Bushes are bursting with berries right about now. This past week I took the kids to the same spots my mum took me as a child and it didn't disappoint! There is something so satisfying knowing that you will have a yield of fruit absolutely free. As we were plucking berries from the bushes, the children were exclaiming how this was their favourite activity ever! That's just how fun and satisfying it is. Children love it! I was amazed at how fearless they were, digging deep in the bush and what felt like them wading through nettles, as I warned them to be careful with one eye squinted and heart slightly in my throat. I was waiting for tears or a nettle sting. Fortunately, they were so focussed on the job in hand, we got away completely unscathed and picked masses of blackberries. It's one of those activities that many of us have fond childhood memories of and family recipes passed down the generations. As a child, I remember walking home from school and slipping into the bushes for a fruity snack, it meant our harvest festival was just around the corner, jam making with my mum and crisp Autumn mornings were not far away.

Blackberries grow almost anywhere, they are essentially a weed, so you shouldn't have to go far to find a good amount.

Here are some useful tips and few things to remember when blackberry picking.

  1. Cover up- blackberries and nettles go hand in hand. They live in the same spot, so you are bound to get stung if you're not wearing trousers, long sleeves and closed shoes.

  2. Wear old clothes- you are bound to get purple squashed into your fingers, it's just part of the fun, but less fun for getting out of clothes. Plus, the thorns in the bushes can snag clothing, so wear clothes you're not too fussed about.

  3. As a general rule, don't pick berries along busy roads, they will be covered with fumes!

  4. Be prepared to collect- take a pot or container with you and keep a carrier bag with you for those impromptu opportunities. If you're like me, I'll see a bush and just have to stop and pick it.

  5. Dogs wee on low berries- don't be tempted by the low purple jewels. The berries you can't reach feeds the birds!

  6. Stick to public places- no one likes their land walked on without permission. So no trespassing and stick to public areas to be safe!

  7. Wash your berries- it's always best to wash fruit before eating it and it's the same for blackberries. Wash them just before you use them or they will spoil quicker.

  8. No waste- the berries you can't eat or have left over can be put in the freezer. Just pop the berries in a freezer bag and place in the freezer, pull out to bake or make smoothies or place on a tray individually and put in the freezer for 12-24 hours. Then place them in a bag, this means they won't just form a big,hard, icy lump of fruit.

Here is the simplest recipe to get you started, put this on top of ice-cream, stir it into yoghurt or add a little to your porridge to get you in an Autumnal mood-

Add the following ingredients into a saucepan:

1 cup of blackberries (It can be any size cup depending on how many blackberries you have picked).

1/2 cup light brown soft sugar

1/2 cup water

•In your saucepan, bring to the boil so that everything is bubbling nicely, give it a stir, this will stop it from sticking.

•Let it boil for 3-5 minutes and then turn it down so that it simmers gently. I like to let mine summer for 20-30 mins. It will have caramelised beautifully and be a sticky sauce texture.

•You may want to put it through a food processor if you would like a smooth consistency, but I like my blackberries to burst in my mouth, so I just mash a few of the blackberries, but keep some in tact.

If you have enjoyed this seasonal blog post, like and share the love!


34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page